Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Brentford (Premier League)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City host Brentford in the Premier League on Tuesday evening, looking to close the gap to both Arsenal and Liverpool at the top of the table.

Pep Guardiola’s side return to action in midweek against Thomas Frank’s Brentford, bidding to bounce back from Saturday’s frustrating 1-1 draw with Chelsea and to move to within one point of Liverpool at the top of the table.

Rodri cancelled out Raheem Sterling’s first-half goal at the Etihad Stadium on Saturday evening, as Manchester City’s 11-match winning streak came to a halt and they lost the chance to potentially move to the top of the table.

Brentford were victorious at the Etihad last season but suffered a 3-1 defeat to City at the Gtech Community Stadium last month, with a hat-trick from Phil Foden securing a vital victory in west London.

Foden will be looking to add to his goalscoring tally on Tuesday evening, meanwhile Erling Haaland is searching for his first goal against Brentford, with the Bees being the only Premier League side the 23-year-old hasn’t scored against.

Mateo Kovacic, Bernardo Silva and John Stones could all return to the starting side for Manchester City in midweek, after Pep Guardiola chose against starting any of the trio against Chelsea at the weekend.

Josko Gvardiol and Jack Grealish both remain sidelined, although the latter could feature again for Manchester City this month, after Pep Guardiola revealed the extent of the Englishman’s groin injury.

Ahead of kick-off at the Etihad Stadium in the Premier League, both Pep Guardiola and Thomas Frank have confirmed their respective Manchester City and Brentford starting line-ups!

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson; Walker (C), Stones, Dias, Akanji; Rodrigo, Bernardo Silva, Foden; Alvarez, Bobb, Haaland.

Substitutes: Ortega, Carson, Ake, Kovacic, Doku, De Bruyne, Gomez, Nunes, Lewis.


Starting XI: Flekken; Zanka, Ajer, Mee; Roerslev, Onyeka, Nørgaard, Janelt, Reguilon; Wissa, Toney.

Substitutes: Strakosha, Collins, Jensen, Damsgaard, Yarmoliuk, Baptiste, Ghoddos, Maupay, Lewis-Potter.