Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Aston Villa vs Manchester City (Premier League)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City travel to Villa Park on Wednesday night as they target an end to a run of successive draws in the Premier League either side of the international break.

The Premier League champions come into the contest off the back of a frustrating affair against Tottenham on Sunday afternoon, culminating in chaos as an on-field officiating decision left Manchester City players and fans bemused and angered.

A late Dejan Kulusevski goal cancelled out Jack Grealish’s strike in the closing stages of the game, ensuring that Ange Postecoglou’s men came away from the Etihad Stadium with a point through a 3-3 draw over the course of 97 minutes of action.

The solitary point at home to the North London club became the third successive score draw for Pep Guardiola and his players, following a 4-4 thriller against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge, and a 1-1 draw with Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool immediately following the international break.

Manchester City now travel to Villa Park in a midweek affair, hoping to record their first victory in the Premier League in over a month, but in the knowledge of the threat that Unai Emery’s side possess as they find themselves fourth in the division heading into the game.

Should Aston Villa win, then the Birmingham club would leapfrog Manchester City within the automatic UEFA Champions League spots before Pep Guardiola and his players turn their attentions to a clash with Luton Town on Sunday afternoon.

Ahead of kick-off in a much-anticipated affair between two of the most attractive footballing sides in the country, managers Unai Emery and Pep Guardiola have confirmed their respective starting line-ups at Villa Park.

Aston Villa

Starting XI: Martinez; Konsa, Carlos, Torres, Digne; Kamara, Tielemans, Luiz; Bailey, Watkins, McGinn.

Substitutes: Marschall, Cash, Moreno, Lenglet, Dendoncker, Ramsey, Zaniolo, Diaby, Duran.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson; Walker, Dias, Akanji, Gvardiol; Stones, Lewis, Bernardo; Alvarez, Haaland, Foden.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Phillips, Ake, Kovacic, Gomez, Nunes, Bobb.