Connect with us


FIFA make Manchester City Club World Cup decision as two Premier League giants excluded from tournament



| Last Updated:


The format for the 32-team FIFA Club World Cup in the United States has been confirmed, with Manchester City’s participation at the tournament also decided.

Pep Guardiola’s side are currently preparing to face Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds in this year’s FIFA Club World Cup semi-finals, with Manchester City at the tournament in Saudi Arabia for the first time in the club’s history.

Manchester City qualified for the Club World Cup after winning the UEFA Champions League in June, with the historic 1-0 victory over Inter Milan also securing the Blues’ place in the expanded 32-team edition of the tournament in 2025.

The treble-winners will be one of 12 European teams to travel to the United States for the FIFA Club World Cup, with the tournament scheduled to take place between June 15 and July 13, 2025.

Pep Guardiola’s attendance at the tournament as Manchester City manager could be subject to doubt, as the Catalan’s contract is currently set to expire in 2025, and the 2025/26 Premier League campaign would start around one month later.

Manchester City and Chelsea have both qualified for the tournament as a result of winning the UEFA Champions League, however after the competition rules were announced, Premier League rivals Liverpool and Manchester United have been banned from competing.

A two club country cap was announced, with the limit only lifted if there are more than two Champions League winners from one country over the four-year qualifying cycle.

Manchester City, Chelsea, Real Madrid, Bayern Munich and Inter Milan are all confirmed European participants at the tournament.

Fellow Premier League side Arsenal can only qualify for the tournament if they win the Champions League this season.

Urawa Red Diamonds, who Manchester City play on Tuesday evening in Jeddah, will also be at the 32-team Club World Cup in the United States, alongside South American trio Palmeiras, Flamengo and Fluminense.