Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Newcastle United vs Manchester City (Carabao Cup Third Round)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City will look to overcome a host of selection problems to reach the Carabao Cup fourth round on Wednesday night as they take on Newcastle United.

The Premier League champions once again added to their 100 per cent winning start in the English top-flight this season, as they made it six wins from six with a victory over Nottingham Forest at the Etihad Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Two first-half goals from Phil Foden and Erling Haaland made it 2-0 to the Blues inside 15 minutes, before a moment of madness within 60 seconds of the second-half restart from Rodri saw the City defensive midfield mainstay receive a straight red card for violent conduct.

Having been adjudged to have raised both hands towards the neck of Forest midfielder Morgan Gibbs-White, Rodri will now begin a three-match ban at St. James’ Park, and will also miss two Premier League away trips against Wolves and Arsenal next month.

Pep Guardiola indicated ahead of kick-off in the north-east that the likes of Kyle Walker and Ruben Dias would require rest having become exhausted following the relentless start to the season, while the game would act as an opportunity to start Kalvin Phillips.

The Catalan head coach has been buoyed by the returns of Jack Grealish and Mateo Kovacic from injury, but continues to battle a host of fitness problems, with Bernardo Silva, John Stones, and Kevin De Bruyne all expected to be absent from the travelling squad.

Ahead of kick-off at St. James’ Park, Eddie Howe and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective Newcastle United and Manchester City starting line-ups for the Carabao Cup third round match!

Newcastle United

Starting XI: Pope, Livramento, Lascelles, Dummett, Targett, Hall, Miley, Tonali, Murphy, Joelinton, Isak.

Substitutes: Karius, Trippier, Schar, Gordon, Ritchie, Manquillo, Almiron, Anderson, Guimaraes.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ortega Moreno, Lewis, Akanji, Ake (C), Gvardiol, Gomez, Phillips, Kovacic, Bobb, Grealish, Alvarez.

Substitutes: Ederson, Carson, Walker, Dias, Haaland, Doku, Nunes, Foden, Hamilton.