Connect with us


Ball numbers, how to watch live, fixture dates, potential opponents – Carabao Cup third round draw



| Last Updated:


Manchester City will discover their opponents for the third round of the Carabao Cup, as Pep Guardiola’s side prepare to enter the competition.

The treble-winners suffered a surprise quarter-final defeat to Southampton in last season’s competition, as Manchester City missed out on winning the trophy for the second successive year, having previously won the Carabao Cup on four consecutive occasions.

Manchester City enter the tournament at the third round stage, receiving an automatic bye due to commitments in the UEFA Champions League.

Local rivals Manchester United are the current Carabao Cup holders, although Manchester City could equal Liverpool’s record-breaking tally of nine League Cup successes by winning the competition this year.

Ahead of the draw for the third round, here is everything you need to know about the upcoming Carabao Cup draw.

When is the Carabao Cup third round draw?

The third round draw for the Carabao Cup is expected to take place on Wednesday 30th August at around 22:15 BST, following the conclusion of Doncaster Rovers’ second round tie against Everton.

How can I watch the Carabao Cup third round draw?

The third round draw will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Football and Sky Sports Main Event for viewers in the United Kingdom.

City Xtra will also have live updates across their Twitter, Instagram and Facebook pages, as well as live coverage and reaction on YouTube!

When will Carabao Cup third round matches be played?

Third round ties are scheduled to be played on the week commencing Monday 25th September 2023.

What ball number are Manchester City?

Manchester City’s ball number for the Carabao Cup third draw is 15.

Who could Manchester City face in the Carabao Cup third round?

1. Bournemouth

2. Arsenal

3. Aston Villa

4. Bradford City

5. Brentford

6. Brighton & Hove Albion

7. Cardiff City

8. Crystal Palace

9. Exeter City

10. Fulham

11. Ipswich Town

12. Leicester City

13. Liverpool

14. Luton Town

16. Manchester United

17. Mansfield Town

18. Middlesbrough

19. Norwich City

20. Newcastle United

21. Peterborough United

22. Port Vale

23. Salford City

24. Stoke City

25. Sutton United

26. West Ham United

27. Wolverhampton Wanderers

28. Chelsea

29. Everton

30. Blackburn Rovers

31. Burnley

32. Lincoln City