Connect with us


Manchester City first-team trio nominated for PFA Player of the Season award



| Last Updated:


Erling Haaland, John Stones and Kevin De Bruyne have been nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award for the 2022/23 campaign.

The Manchester City trio enjoyed arguably the best season of their respective careers last term as the Blues marched to a historic, treble of trophies.

City collected their third Premier League title on the trot and beat Manchester United in the FA Cup final, before edging Inter Milan in a nerve-wracking Champions League final encounter in Istanbul.

Haaland, who has also secured a PFA Young Player of the Year nomination, has been a goalscoring sensation since he joined City from Borussia Dortmund last summer – netting 52 times in 53 competitive games across all competitions in his debut season at the Etihad Stadium.

The 23-year-old has picked up right where he left off last season with an opening day brace against Burnley last week, and is set to play more often with Julian Alvarez in attack as Kevin De Bruyne recovers from a major hamstring issue in the coming months.

John Stones was one of City’s best and most valuable assets throughout last season as he operated in a defensive midfield role to absolute perfection alongside Rodri.

Stones’ exemplary display in the Champions League final earned him plaudits and summed up what had been yet another incredible campaign for the England international, who keeps on improving year on year under Guardiola.

Kevin De Bruyne did what Kevin De Bruyne does best as he once again remarked why he is widely considered the best midfielder on the planet – providing a host of match-winning displays in City’s treble run-in.

The Belgian, who went off with injury in the Champions League final, picked up another hamstring issue last week against Burnley and will miss nearly the entirety of the first half of Manchester City’s season.

Other nominees for the 2022/23 PFA Player of the Season include former Tottenham forward Harry Kane as well as Arsenal duo Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka.