Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Newcastle (FA Cup quarter-final)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City welcome Eddie Howe’s Newcastle United to the Etihad Stadium on Saturday evening for the quarter-final stage of the FA Cup.

The reigning holders of the competition have remained faultless throughout this season’s tournament as they look to retain the FA Cup for the first time in the Pep Guardiola reign at the Etihad Stadium.

The Catalan coach will be looking to win the tournament for the third time during his career in England, having claimed the country’s most historic domestic cup competition in the 2018/19 and 2022/23 campaign – as part of a historic Treble triumph in the latter.

So far this season, Manchester City have moved past Championship outfit Huddersfield Town in the third round, Tottenham Hotspur away from home in the fourth, and most recently, a rout over Luton Town in the fifth round at Kenilworth Road.

It was an Erling Haaland five-goal haul that saw Rob Edwards’ side crushed in the last round of the FA Cup, with the Norwegian converting four chances provided by Kevin De Bruyne, while Mateo Kovacic scored his second-ever City goal to round off the scoring.

Eddie Howe and his Newcastle team will be looking to end a torrid run of form across competitions this weekend, as they continue to battle on an injury front, while Manchester City could welcome back Jack Grealish from a groin injury.

Kevin De Bruyne is likely to be ruled out as the Club look to hand him time away from the action to avoid any further problems concerning a minor issue, while Stefan Ortega Moreno starts in goal ahead of the injured Ederson – who could return after the international break.

Ahead of kick-off at the Etihad Stadium on Saturday evening, here is how both Pep Guardiola line-up their respective Manchester City and Newcastle United sides.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ortega; Walker, Dias, Akanji, Gvardiol; Rodri, Kovacic, Foden; Bernardo, Haaland, Doku.

Substitutes: Carson, Lewis, Stones, Ake, Gomez, Nunes, Grealish, Alvarez, Bobb.

Newcastle United

Starting XI: Dubravka; Murphy, Schar, Lascelles, Botman, Burn; Willock, Guimaraes, Longstaff, Gordon; Isak.

Substitutes: Karius, Dummett, Ritchie, Targett, Krafth, Hall, Almiron, Anderson, Miley.