Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Real Madrid (UEFA Champions League Quarter-Final Second-Leg)



| Last Updated:


Pep Guardiola and Carlo Ancelotti have named their respective teams for Wednesday’s crucial UEFA Champions League quarter-final second-leg clash at the Etihad Stadium.

Manchester City are bidding to reach the last-four of the Champions League for a fourth successive season on Wednesday night, as the Sky Blues continue their quest to complete an audacious back-to-back treble.

Guardiola’s silverware hopes will come under significant imminent pressure, with the Champions League tie all square ahead of the second-leg, and Manchester City facing Chelsea at Wembley Stadium in the Emirates FA Cup semi-finals on Saturday.

The tie is level at 3-3 after an emphatic first-leg at the Santiago Bernabéu, where Bernardo Silva, Phil Foden and Josko Gvardiol were all on the scoresheet for Manchester City.

City, who beat Real Madrid in the semi-finals last season as part of a maiden Champions League, have never lost at home to Real Madrid and are also unbeaten in the competition since May 2022, when Ancelotti’s side beat the Blues in Spain.

The Cityzens are unbeaten in their past 27 matches across all competitions, with the streak spanning back to early December.

Manchester City thumped Luton Town in the Premier League on Saturday, winning 5-1 at the Etihad Stadium, courtesy of goals from Erling Haaland, Mateo Kovacic, Jeremy Doku and Gvardiol.

Both Kyle Walker and Nathan Ake returned to the Manchester City bench at the weekend, with both defender’s having been sidelined due to recent injury problems.

The pair are in contention to feature against Real Madrid, and ahead of kick-off at the Etihad Stadium, both Pep Guardiola and Carlo Ancelotti have confirmed their respective Manchester City and Real Madrid starting line-ups!

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson; Walker, Dias, Akanji, Gvardiol; Rodri, De Bruyne, Foden; Bernardo, Haaland, Grealish.

Substitutes: Ortega, Carson, Lewis, Stones, Ake, Gomez, Nunes, Kovacic, Bobb, Alvarez, Doku.

Real Madrid

Starting XI: Lunin, Carvajal, Rudiger, Nacho, Mendy, Valverde, Camavinga, Kroos, Rodrygo, Bellingham, Vini Jr.

Substitutes: Kepa, Fran, Militao, Modric, Joselu, Lucas V., Ceballos, Fran Garcia, Brahim, Arda Guler.