Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: FC Copenhagen vs Manchester City (UEFA Champions League Last-16 First-Leg)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City are embarking on the knock-out stages of the UEFA Champions League on Tuesday night as they travel to Copenhagen for the first-leg of the last-16.

City made it 10 successive wins in their last competitive outing as they dismissed of Sean Dyche’s Everton at the Etihad Stadium thanks to an impressive second-half brace from the prolific Norwegian, Erling Haaland.

Yet another victory in Premier League action meant Manchester City remain within touching distance of Liverpool at the top of the division, sitting just two points behind Jurgen Klopp’s men with a game in hand.

FC Copenhagen are the latest challenge for the Champions of Europe in what will be a challenging contest for Manchester City, with the Danish side reaching the knock-out rounds despite group stage competition from Bayern Munich, Manchester United, and Galatasaray.

As for Manchester City, they cruised into the next round of Europe’s premier club competition by recording six wins from their six group stage games and overcoming the threat of RB Leipzig, BSC Young Boys, and Crvena zvezda.

Manchester City will however be without three of their first-team names in Denmark this week, with Josko Gvardiol, Sergio Gomez, and Mateo Kovacic all having been left out of the 21-man squad that made the trip north on Monday evening.

Ahead of kick-off at Parken in Copenhagen, both Jacob Neestrup and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective starting line-ups for the meeting in Denmark on Tuesday night!

FC Copenhagen

Starting XI: Grabara, Diks, Vavro, Claesson, Mattsoon, Diogo, Elyounoussi, Jelert, McKenna, Achouri, Falk.

Substitutes: Runarsson, Buur, Sorensen, Larsson, Cornelius, Oskarsson, Ankersen, Meling, Clem, O Hojlund, Roony, Froholdt.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker (C), Stones, Dias, Ake, Rodrigo, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Foden, Grealish, Haaland.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Doku, Alvarez, Akanji, Nunes, Bobb, Wright, Susoho, Lewis.