Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Fluminense (FIFA Club World Cup)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City face up to the prospect of becoming world champions on Friday night as they take on Fluminense in the FIFA Club World Cup final in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

Pep Guardiola’s side can complete a circle of top-level footballing trophies in a single calendar year this week, having already claimed four of the biggest prizes available in the sport as part of a historic English footballing Treble last season.

The success in the Premier League for a third successive season was followed up by an Emirates FA Cup final win over bitter rivals Manchester United at Wembley, before Manchester City travelled to Istanbul to claim their first ever UEFA Champions League crown.

Victory over Inter – courtesy of Rodri’s second-half strike – set-up Manchester City for a UEFA Super Cup clash with Sevilla in Athens, coming out on top after a penalty shoot-out victory in the Greek city.

Now, Manchester City can make it five trophies in 2023, as they gear up to face Brazilian giants Fluminense in the FIFA Club World Cup final in Jeddah, following a convincing 0-3 semi-final win over Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds.

An own goal in the first-half of action, forced by a Matheus Nunes cross, was followed up by Mateo Kovacic’s first-ever goal for the club, before Bernardo Silva would round off the scoring prior to the 60th minute mark.

Pep Guardiola will continue to be without three of his biggest first-team hitters, with Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Haaland, and Jeremy Doku all withdrawn from the 23-man squad list ahead of the semi-final, with competition rules meaning they cannot be brought back in for the final irrespective of fitness.

Ahead of kick-off in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia on Friday evening, both Pep Guardiola and Fluminense manager Fernando Diniz have now confirmed their respective starting line-ups.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker, Stones, Dias, Ake, Rodri, Lewis, Bernardo, Foden, Alvarez, Grealish.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Akanji, Alleyne, Gvardiol, Gomez, Phillips, Nunes, Kovacic, Susoho, Hamilton, Bobb.


Starting XI: Fábio, Samuel, Nino, Felipe, Marcelo, André, Martinelli, Keno, Ganso, Arias, Cano.

Substitutes: Rangel, Eudes, Marlon, Alexander, Kennedy, Daniel, Guga, Santos, Gonzalez, Barbosa, Braz, Lima.