Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Urawa Red Diamonds vs Manchester City (FIFA Club World Cup)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City embark on their first ever 90 minutes of action at the FIFA Club World Cup as they take on Japanese side Urawa Red Diamonds at the semi-final stage.

Pep Guardiola and his players made the trip to the Middle-East on Saturday night, having departed Manchester Airport just hours after being held to a hugely disappointing 2-2 draw against Crystal Palace at the Etihad Stadium.

The City boss will be hoping his players have put their frustrations behind them as they refocus to try and reach the pinnacle of club football in the globally-recognised FIFA Club World Cup in Jeddah.

The winner of Urawa Red Diamonds against Manchester City will face Brazilian giants Fluminense in the final on Friday night, while the losers of Tuesday evening’s contest will be entered into a third place play-off clash with Al Ahly on the same day.

Manchester City have already received a huge boost upon arriving in Saudi Arabia this week, with Kevin De Bruyne returning to first-team training having completed his recovery from hamstring surgery undertaken last summer.

Pep Guardiola and his wider coaching staff may however not risk the Belgian midfielder until later in the season, with action closer to the turn of the new year deemed more realistic than any competitive appearances at the FIFA tournament this week.

Erling Haaland and Jeremy Doku remain unavailable for the reigning Champions League winners against Urawa Reds as the attacking duo continue to work towards full fitness following a foot stress and muscular problem respectively.

Ahead of kick-off in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia on Tuesday evening, both Urawa Red Diamonds’ manager Maciej Skorża and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective starting line-ups.

Urawa Red Diamonds

Starting XI: Nishikawa, Ito, Hoibraten, Koizumi, Kante, Sekine, Akimoto, Iwao, Okubo, Yasui, Scholz.

Substitutes: Niekawa, Yoshida, Sakai, Iwanami, Linssen, Nakajima, Schalk, Shibato, Ogiwara, Panya, Koroki, Ohata.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker, Stones, Akanji, Ake, Rodri, Kovavic, Nunes, Grealish, Bernardo, Foden.

Substitutes: Ortega, Carson, Dias, Phillips, Alvarez, Gomez, Gvardiol, Bobb, Alleyne, Susoho, Lewis, Hamilton.