Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Crvena zvezda vs Manchester City (UEFA Champions League)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City take on Crvena zvezda in Belgrade on Wednesday evening, as they look to confirm a 100 per cent winning run in the Champions League group stage.

The reigning European champions have so far recorded five wins from their five group games this season, with successive 3-1 wins from their opening three matchdays followed by a 3-0 victory over BSC Young Boys and a dramatic 3-2 comeback win against RB Leipzig.

That record in the competition means that Manchester City have already qualified for the last-16 of the UEFA Champions League ahead of next week’s draw, with top spot in their group also made official on the last matchday.

The clash in Belgrade comes off the back of City’s 1-2 win at Luton Town in the Premier League at the weekend, with that victory ending a run of four successive games without a win in the English top-flight.

Attentions will then turn back to the competition after Wednesday evening’s contest, with Crystal Palace being Manchester City’s final opponents before embarking on their first ever appearance at the FIFA Club World Cup, hosted by Saudi Arabia.

Pep Guardiola will be without four of his first-team stars at the Rajko Mitić Stadium on Wednesday evening, with Erling Haaland, Jeremy Doku, and Kevin De Bruyne all ruled out through injury problems, whilst Ederson misses out through illness.

Ahead of kick-off in Belgrade tonight, both Barak Bakhar and Pep Guardiola have confirmed their respective starting line-ups.

Crvena zvezda

Starting XI: Glazer, Nedeljkovic, Spajic, Kanga, Ndiaye, Olayinka, Dragovic, Djiga, Bukari, Mijailovic, Hwang.

Substitutes: Vasiljevic, Degenek, Stamenic, Katai, Krasso, Milunovic, Kangwa, Mijatovic, Rodic, Lucic, Kabic, Mitrovic.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ortega Moreno, Lewis, Stones (C), Akanji, Gomez, Phillips, Kovacic, Nunes, Bobb, Grealish, Hamilton.

Substitutes: Carson, Grant, Walker, Dias, Ake, Rodrigo, Alvarez, Bernardo, Gvardiol, Foden, Alleyne, Susoho.