Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Luton Town vs Manchester City (Premier League)



| Last Updated:


Pep Guardiola has named his Manchester City team to face Luton Town on Sunday afternoon in the Premier League.

Manchester City have the opportunity to close the gap to both Liverpool and Arsenal at the top of the Premier League table at Kenilworth Road, with the Sky Blues looking to end a dismal run of recent form.

Guardiola’s side have failed to win any of their past four Premier League matches, with frustrations compounded in midweek, as Aston Villa beat the treble-winners 1-0 at Villa Park with an emphatic display.

Luton Town have won just two matches all season, however the newly-promoted side secured a point against Liverpool, and suffered late heartbreak against Arsenal in midweek, as Declan Rice scored an injury-time winner for the Gunners.

Manchester City haven’t faced Luton since 1999, but the Blues know that their Premier League title hopes would take another serious blow this weekend, if they fail to beat Rob Edwards’ side.

Guardiola will be without Erling Haaland for the clash in the capital, with the Norwegian having previously started all of Manchester City’s Premier League matches so far this season.

Rodri and Jack Grealish will return for Manchester City this weekend however, after the pair were suspended for Wednesday’s loss in the Midlands.

Ahead of kick-off at Kenilworth Road, both Rob Edwards and Pep Guardiola have confirmed their respective starting line-ups.

Luton Town

Starting XI: Kaminski; Lockyer, Mengi, Bell; Doughty, Nakamba, Barkley, Giles; Townsend, Adebayo, Brown.

Substitutes: Krul, Andersen, Berry, Morris, Chong, Mpanzu, Clark, Lokonga, Johnson.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker, Dias, Ake, Gvardiol, Rodrigo, Kovacic, Bernardo, Foden, Grealish, Alvarez.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Phillips, Stones, Gomez, Akanji, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis.