Connect with us


Confirmed Manchester City rankings at the 2023 Ballon d’Or



| Last Updated:


France Football have finalised the rankings of Manchester City’s nominees for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award.

Seven current members of Pep Guardiola’s squad have been nominated for the prestigious award, with Erling Haaland attempting to prevent Lionel Messi from winning the Men’s Ballon d’Or for a record-breaking eighth time.

The 23-year-old, who scored 52 goals in 53 appearances during his maiden campaign with Manchester City last season, helped the Sky Blues to an historic treble, as the club won the Premier League, UEFA Champions League and Emirates FA Cup.

The 2023 Ballon d’Or awards ceremony will be the 67th annual proceedings for the main award, presented by French media outlet France Football, recognising the best footballers in the world from the 2022/2023 season.

Manchester City’s Josko Gvardiol, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva, Ruben Dias, Julian Alvarez and Rodrigo are all also amongst the 30-man shortlist for this year’s top individual footballing prize.

Shot-stopper Ederson is nominated for the Yachine Trophy, celebrating the best goalkeeper from the past footballing season, meanwhile former club captain and now Barcelona midfielder Ilkay Gundogan is also a Ballon d’Or nominee.

Erling Haaland was in attendance at Monday evening’s ceremony in the French capital of Paris, as the final rankings for the 2023 Men’s Ballon d’Or award were announced in front of a star-studded crowd.

Men’s Ballon d’Or Rankings 2023

30th – Ruben Dias, Manchester City

Intermediate rankings:

  • 28th – Randal Kolo-Muani, Eintracht Frankfurt and Paris Saint-Germain
  • 28th – Martin Odegaard, Arsenal
  • 27th – Nicolo Barella, Inter
  • 26th – Jamal Musiala, Bayern Munich

25th – Josko Gvardiol, RB Leipzig and Manchester City

Intermediate rankings:

24th – Bukayo Saka, Arsenal
23rd – Andre Onana, Inter and Manchester United
22nd – Kim Min-jae, Napoli and Bayern Munich
21st – Antoine Griezmann, Atletico Madrid
20th – Lautaro Martinez, Inter
19th – Harry Kane, Tottenham Hotspur and Bayern Munich
18th – Jude Bellingham, Borussia Dortmund and Real Madrid
17th – Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Napoli
16th – Karim Benzema, Real Madrid and Al Ittihad
15th – Emiliano Martinez, Aston Villa
14th – Ilkay Gundogan, Manchester City and Barcelona
13th – Yassine Bounou, Sevilla and Al Hilal
12th – Robert Lewandowski, Barcelona
11th – Mohamed Salah, Liverpool
10th – Luka Modric, Real Madrid

9th – Bernardo Silva, Manchester City

Intermediate rankings:

8th – Victor Osimhen, Napoli

7th – Julian Alvarez, Manchester City

Intermediate rankings:

6th – Vinicius Jr, Real Madrid

5th – Rodri, Manchester City

4th – Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester City

3rd – Kylian Mbappe, Paris Saint-Germain

Runner-up: Erling Haaland, Manchester City

Winner: Lionel Messi, Paris Saint-Germain and Inter Miami

Additional awards

Ederson finished in second place for the Yachine Trophy.

Erling Haaland was crowned as the winner of the Gerd Müller Trophy.

Manchester City Football Club were the recipients of the Club of the Year award.