Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester United vs Manchester City (Premier League)



| Last Updated:


Pep Guardiola has named his Manchester City team for Sunday’s Premier League clash against Manchester United at Old Trafford.

Manchester City face Manchester United for the first time since the historic 2-1 win at Wembley Stadium in the Emirates FA Cup Final in June, travelling to Old Trafford for a Premier League clash against their local rivals.

Pep Guardiola’s side took a major step towards the UEFA Champions League knockout stages on Wednesday evening, beating BSC Young Boys in Switzerland, courtesy of Manuel Akanji’s goal and a brace from Erling Haaland.

Manchester United were also in Champions League action, with a 1-0 win over FC Copenhagen on Tuesday evening being their first victory in the competition this season, after losses against Bayern Munich and Galatasaray.

Manchester City have won four of the past five Manchester derby’s, but have not won at Old Trafford since 2021.

Erling Haaland and Phil Foden both scored hat-tricks against Manchester United last season, and Erik ten Hag’s side have already suffered four Premier League defeats during the opening weeks of the campaign.

The boyhood Blues joined an elite list of Manchester City players to score a Manchester derby hat-trick, joining Horace Barnes and Francis Lee, who tragically passed away earlier this month.

Erling Haaland was on the scoresheet last weekend as well, ending a run of three matches without a goal for Manchester City, helping the Sky Blues to victory over Roberto De Zerbi’s ever-impressive Brighton squad.

Ahead of kick-off at Old Trafford, Erik ten Hag and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective starting line-ups for the 190th Manchester derby.

Manchester United

Starting XI: Onana; Lindelof, Evans, Maguire, Dalot; Amrabat, McTominay, Eriksen; Fernandes, Hojlund, Rashford.

Substitutes: Bayindir, Mount, Martial, Reguilon, Garnacho, Varane, Antony, Mainoo, Hannibal.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker, Dias, Stones, Gvardiol, Rodri, Bernardo, Alvarez; Foden, Haaland, Grealish.

Substitutes: Ortega, Phillips, Ake, Kovacic, Doku, Gomes, Nunes, Bobb, Lewis.