Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: BSC Young Boys vs Manchester City (UEFA Champions League Group Stage)



| Last Updated:


Pep Guardiola has named his Manchester City team for Wednesday night’s UEFA Champions League clash against BSC Young Boys at the Wankdorf Stadium.

The reigning European champions are looking to maintain their position as group leaders with a minimum three-point gap, following two wins from their opening two group stages games so far this season.

Manchester City had to overcome an early second-half equaliser against RB Leipzig last time out in European competition, having initially gone ahead at the Red Bull Arena courtesy of Phil Foden’s first-half effort.

However, two second-half goals from substitutes Julian Alvarez and Jeremy Doku ensured that City came away from east Germany with all three points and further built on their matchday one victory at the Etihad Stadium.

Pep Guardiola and his players will be hoping to build on their weekend victory against Brighton & Hove Albion that saw Manchester City recover from a run of two successive defeats in the top-flight.

John Stones is a welcome return to full fitness for Pep Guardiola’s side with the England international having returned from a muscular problem that kept him away from the first-team set-up since the FA Community Shield defeat to Arsenal back in August.

Kevin De Bruyne is Manchester City’s only injury problem, with the Belgium international not expected back in action until early 2024 after undergoing surgery on a hamstring issue back in August.

Ahead of kick-off in the Swiss city of Bern on Wednesday night, Raphaël Wicky and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective BSC Young Boys and Manchester City starting line-ups for the UEFA Champions League group stage clash!

BSC Young Boys

Starting XI: Racioppi; Blum, Camara, Benito, Garcia; Monteiro, Lauper, Niasse; Ugrinic; Elia, Itten

Substitutes: Von Ballmoos, Marzino, Amenda, Lakomy, Colley, Chaiwa, Janko, Nsaame, Persson, Lustenberger, Ganvoula, Males

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Lewis, Akanji, Dias (C), Ake, Rodrigo, Kovacic, Nunes, Grealish, Doku, Haaland

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Walker, Phillips, Stones, Alvarez, Bernardo, Gomez, Gvardiol, Foden, Bobb, Hamilton