Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: RB Leipzig vs Manchester City (UEFA Champions League Group Stage)



| Last Updated:


Pep Guardiola has named his Manchester City team for Wednesday night’s UEFA Champions League clash against RB Leipzig at the Red Bull Arena.

The reigning European champions are looking to go three points clear at the top of their group this week with a victory in east Germany, as Josko Gvardiol makes his first return to Leipzig after leaving the club for Manchester City in the recent summer transfer window.

Manchester City came from behind on matchday one in this season’s competition to defeat Crvena zvezda at the Etihad Stadium by a 3-1 scoreline, while RB Leipzig beat BSC Young Boys away from home 1-3 in Bern.

Pep Guardiola and his players will be hoping to bounce back from consecutive defeats on Wednesday night, having lost their last two matches against Newcastle United and Wolves in the Carabao Cup third round and Premier League respectively.

Rodri is a welcome addition to the City boss’ options in Saxony however, with the Spanish defensive midfielder exempt from his three-game domestic football ban following a red card against Nottingham Forest a fortnight ago.

John Stones and Bernardo Silva have also boosted Manchester City’s options, with the centre-back and versatile midfielder both having returned to full first-team training on Tuesday morning following respective lay-offs through injury.

Kevin De Bruyne remains Manchester City’s only injury problem, with the Belgian not expected back in action until early 2024 after undergoing surgery on a hamstring problem back in August.

Ahead of kick-off in east Germany, Marco Rose and Pep Guardiola have now confirmed their respective RB Leipzig and Manchester City starting line-ups for the UEFA Champions League group stage clash!

RB Leipzig

Starting XI: Blaswich; Klostermann, Simakan, Lukeba, Raum; Xavi Simons, Seiwald, Schlager, Forsberg; Openda, Poulsen.

Substitutes: Gulacsi, Lenz, Haidara, Werner, Baumgartner, Carvalho, Sesko, Kampl.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker (C), Akanji, Dias, Gvardiol, Lewis, Rodrigo, Bernardo, Foden, Grealish, Haaland.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Phillips, Stones, Ake, Kovacic, Doku, Alvarez, Gomez, Nunes, Bobb.