Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Nottingham Forest (Premier League)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City are looking to make it six wins out of a possible six in the Premier League this weekend as they play host to Nottingham Forest at the Etihad Stadium.

Pep Guardiola’s side converted their 100 per cent record in the English top-flight into victory in the UEFA Champions League in midweek, as their defence of the European crown began with a 3-1 comeback victory over Crvena zvezda.

Julian Alvarez’s second-half brace followed by a delightful goal from Rodri cancelled out the Serbian side’s shock first-half opener, as Manchester City came from one goal down to claim all three points on matchday one in the group stage of this season’s tournament.

Manchester City’s most recent victory in the Premier League saw a similar pattern of play to the contest in European competition, coming from 1-0 down to defeat David Moyes’ West Ham at the London Stadium by a 1-3 scoreline following a second-half comeback.

Pep Guardiola is currently two wins out of two himself after returning to Manchester City duties last weekend, with the City boss having recovered from surgery on his back in Barcelona prior to the September international break.

The Catalan head coach has had a number of injury problems to deal with over the past few weeks, but have been buoyed by the return of Jack Grealish and Mateo Kovacic to first-team training this week.

Bernardo Silva has become the latest player to have succumbed to the treatment table following a problem sustained during the win over Red Star Belgrade, joining John Stones and Kevin De Bruyne in being ruled out for this weekend’s game.

Ahead of kick-off at the Etihad Stadium, Pep Guardiola and Steve Cooper have now confirmed their respective Manchester City and Nottingham Forest starting line-ups!

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson; Walker (C), Akanji, Dias, Gvardiol; Rodrigo, Nunes, Foden; Alvarez, Doku, Haaland.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Phillips, Ake, Grealish, Gomez, Bobb, Lewis

Nottingham Forest

Starting XI: Turner; Aurier, Boly, Niakhate, Mangala, Tavares; Dominguez, Sangare, Aina, Gibbs-White; Awoniyi.

Substitutes: Vlachodimos, Montiel, Worrall, Hudson-Odoi, Kouyate, Yates, Wood, Elanga, Origi.