Connect with us


Seven members of Manchester City squad nominated for The Best FIFA Awards



| Last Updated:


Manchester City have received seven nominations for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2023.

Pep Guardiola’s squad completed a famous treble during the 2022/23 season, becoming the first team since 1999 to win the Premier League, UEFA Champions League and Emirates FA Cup.

Manchester City won the Premier League title for a third successive season, and lifted a maiden Champions League trophy, courtesy of Rodri’s 68th minute strike and a series of heroic saves by goalkeeper Ederson.

Erling Haaland scored 52 goals in 53 appearances during his debut season in England, smashing the Premier League goalscoring record and claiming three personal accolades – the Premier League Player of the Season, PFA Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year awards.

The 23-year-old is set to rival Lionel Messi for the 2023 Ballon d’Or award, and the Norwegian is one of six players from the treble-winning squad to be nominated for The Best FIFA Men’s Player of 2023 award.

Julian Alvarez, Kevin De Bruyne, Erling Haaland, Rodri, and Bernardo Silva have all been nominated for the award, as well as Ilkay Gundogan, who left Manchester City for Barcelona on a free transfer during the summer.

Ederson has been nominated in the FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper of 2023 category, meanwhile Pep Guardiola is nominated for the Men’s Coach Award.

The Best FIFA Awards Nominees

The Best FIFA Men’s Player 2023:

Julian Alvarez, Marcelo Brozovic, Kevin De Bruyne, Ilkay Gundogan, Erling Haaland, Rodri, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Victor Osimhen, Declan Rice, Bernardo Silva.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2023:

Pep Guardiola, Simone Inzaghi, Ange Postecoglou, Luciano Spalletti, Xavi.

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper 2023:

Yassine Bounou, Thibaut Courtois, Ederson, Andre Onana, Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Vote for The Best FIFA Awards 2023 here: