Connect with us

Match Coverage

Confirmed Line-Ups: Manchester City vs Sevilla (UEFA Super Cup)



| Last Updated:


Manchester City and Sevilla battle it out for the title of being Kings of Europe on Wednesday night, as they compete in the 2023 UEFA Super Cup in Athens, Greece.

Pep Guardiola and his players are competing at this level for the first time in the club’s history, after claiming their maiden UEFA Champions League honour back in June courtesy of Rodri’s long-distance strike to secure a 1-0 victory over Inter in Istanbul, Turkey.

La Liga giants and UEFA Europa League experts Sevilla are the opponents at the Karaiskakis Stadium in the port city of Piraeus, after the Spanish club won yet another honour in the aforementioned tournament thanks to a penalty shoot-out win over AS Roma last season.

Josko Gvardiol could be in line to make his full Manchester City debut this week, after featuring from the substitutes bench in last week’s 0-3 win against Burnley at Turf Moor in the Premier League.

On the absentees front and City will be without Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, and Bernardo Silva, despite Dias training as normal in Athens but being prevented from playing due to concussion rules.

De Bruyne is in line for a lengthy lay-off due to the hamstring injury he sustained on Friday night, and could even undergo surgery which would keep him out until early 2024, while Bernardo Silva has been described as feeling ‘unwell’.

Ahead of kick-off in the 20:00 start in Piraeus in Greece, here is how both Pep Guardiola and José Luis Mendilibar line-up their respective Manchester City and Sevilla line-ups.

Manchester City

Starting XI: Ederson, Walker (C), Akanji, Gvardiol, Ake, Rodrigo, Kovacic, Foden, Palmer, Grealish, Haaland.

Substitutes: Ortega Moreno, Carson, Dias, Phillips, Stones, Laporte, Alvarez, Gomez, Perrone, Bobb, Lewis, McAtee.


Starting XI: Bounou, Navas, Bade, Gudelj, Acuna, Jordan, Rakitic, Oliver Torres, Ocampos, Lamela, En-Nesyri.

Substitutes: Dmitrovic, Gattoni, Pedrosa, Montiel, Suso, Rafa Mir, Corona, Sow, Gomez, Juanlu, Kike Salas, Bueno.