Connect with us

Match Coverage

Early team news: Three confirmed absentees from Manchester City squad vs Sevilla (UEFA Super Cup)



| Last Updated:


A trio of Manchester City’s first-team stars are confirmed absentees from Pep Guardiola’s matchday squad on Wednesday night, it has been confirmed.

Manchester City play their second game in quick succession, and a huge contest sandwiched between two significant opening Premier League games across the space of a week, as they travel to Athens to take on Sevilla in the UEFA Super Cup.

Wednesday night’s game is the reward for both sides after their triumphs in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, with the Super Cup trophy up for grabs as well as a reported €5 million in prize money.

Manchester City travel to Greece off the back of an opening weekend Premier League win at Turf Moor, with a brace from Erling Haaland accompanying a close-range strike from Rodri in a 0-3 win against Vincent Kompany’s newly-promoted outfit.

Ahead of the official release of the starting line-ups this evening, sources have began to report on Manchester City’s team news, with three confirmed absentees named from the travelling party that have made the trip into Europe.

As confirmed by Manchester City upon naming their 22-man travelling squad to Athens, Ruben Dias, Bernardo Silva, and Kevin De Bruyne will play no part in the contest, despite the Portuguese international centre-back travelling with the team to maintain training.

Dias is at the back end of his recovery from concussion following a training ground incident, but could make a return to competitive action in the Premier League this weekend, as Manchester City welcome Newcastle to the Etihad Stadium.

Bernardo Silva is excluded after feeling ‘unwell’, while De Bruyne could now be ruled out until 2024 with the club set to make a decision as to whether the Belgian midfielder undergoes surgery on a persistent hamstring problem aggravated on Friday night against Burnley.

Pep Guardiola and José Luis Mendilibar are expected to confirm their respective starting line-ups at approximately 18:45 BST on Wednesday night.

Now confirmed.